General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Michigan dumping excursion

I live in northern Ohio and have been to most of Michigan, including the UP on snowmobile adventures. I'd love to join up with some fellow RBers on a dumping mission sometime. Unfortunately, my work schedule wouldn't allow me to get out until mid to late November. Also, keep in mind that I'm a rookie, but eager to learn and am not afraid of hard work. Is it common to run into deer hunters that time of year? And I suppose its not uncommon to have some early snowfall at that time as well.

Re: Michigan dumping excursion

Hi Bryan. Email me about a trip this fall. I live in Ann Arbor and have a few dumps we could hit a few hours north here in Michigan. Chris

Re: Re: Michigan dumping excursion

Sometime in November the Hunters are every where. Not sure exactly when as I'm not a Hunter. A can Hunter, does that count? LEON.

Bryan2

You don't have to go that far into Michigan to find cans. Here's a picture of a find Mike Belanger and I made in Quincy Michigan not far from the Indiana-Ohio border.

Leon,

Here is one of the cans Mike and I found north of Lake St. Helens.

One day Mike and I were taking this dirt road north of Lake St. Helens. We came to this clearing where they had just cut down the trees and had replanted sapplings. Well, in the distance was this rickety deer blinds and campers pits were around the area. I noticed that when they dug a hole for a sappling they exposed some trash. Well, Mike and I broke out my two metal detectors. And we start finding small camp pits all over the place. It was the first time I'd ever experienced finding cans that way. I was a newbie to the pit finding game. And here we were finding them. Mike and I must have found half a dozen or more pits of cans buried.